Hello from Geocaching Australia

You want to get involved in the Opencaching Network?
Antworten
CraigRat

Hello everyone,

My name is Craig, I'm a developer at Geocaching Australia,

While not a part of the OC network, we are very much similar in our approach to Free and Open Geocaching.

Basically this post is just me saing hello, and to let you know what some of our intentions are over the next year, hopefully we can do some co-operative things to help push forward!

I'm currently about to embark on writing an API for the site and I'm interested in using the same format as your network
At the moment I've not started, but have been looking at what's currently in use.
I have a copy of a document for an OC API that dariusz made, but it hasn't been edited in 120 days, and I am wondering where you guys are at with the specifications?

Also, one thing I'd like to see is a better common GPX format. Currently your networks use our 1.0 GPX format for your non-gc type, and we've developed a 1.1 version now which is better and works in Garmin units (and was based off your 'new' format', however the format you use doesn't appear to have a valid XSD for validating (our 1.0 and 1.1 formats have)

I'd love us to unify on a new format that handles most of the features across the sites, as it gives us a better chance at getting manufacturers and developers supporting a non-gc format.

Part of me was hoping that Garmin would adopt a GPX format that did not have the groundspeak:: namespaces,but the format they have run with is WORSE than the GC format, which is a pity!
I approached Garmin about possibly adopting the GCA format for their site, but I have only been told that they might support it on their 'import' tool, not as their sites native format.

Anyhow,

I'm looking forward to working with you, this upcoming year will be a big year for alternative geocaching sites!
DudleyGrunt

Welcome aboard, Craig!  Can I call you Craig?  Or do you prefer Mr. Rat?  ;D