Stats for Opencaching sites

Du suchst die richtigen GPS-Geräte, Geocaching-Software oder sonstiges Geocaching-Zubehör? Tausche Dich hier mit anderen Usern aus.

Moderator: mic@

j-he
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 36
Registriert: 16.10.2016, 12:03

[quote="tomaszg"]
FWIW, Project-GC checks for word "FTF" in the log to figure it out. I don't think many people put it in their logs (I know I don't usually) so it is not the best approach.
[/quote]
As an alternative, Project-GC lets you use and configure a public Bookmark List for your FTFs, which is the method I use. I think it is more reliable than looking at log entries, as there may be other reasons to write about FTF in a log entry.
Benutzeravatar
tomaszg
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 22
Registriert: 28.01.2020, 03:18

Right, but I'm not sure what would be an alternative of this approach for OC. I see you have some kind of lists on OCDE which could be used for this end. On the other hand, we don't have such a thing on OCPL as far as I know.  I would prefer to have some solution that would work across the board... Uploading a file with a custom list of cache codes would be tedious.
Bild Bild
JoDaEmPA
Beiträge: 3
Registriert: 02.06.2020, 10:09

At
project-gc.com also uses a filter with {FTF} entries!
But the method of j-he to put the {FTF's} in a bookmark list is probably the easiest method!
Thanks tomaszg
{translated with Google}
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

[quote="tomaszg"]It supports all OC sites which use OKAPI.[/quote]

Hi Tomasz, are you able to produce the OC statistic in a more vivid way (not picture, but video).
Here is what I mean: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kvhOL2AfJSo
Benutzeravatar
tomaszg
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 22
Registriert: 28.01.2020, 03:18

It should be possible. Some kind of animated GIF or PNG probably would be easiest. I'll think about it. Not sure when I will have time to code it though.
Bild Bild
Benutzeravatar
tomaszg
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 22
Registriert: 28.01.2020, 03:18

There is now a basic support for animated maps. Not sure if that is exactly what you meant. Right now it is quite limited. Caches are displayed sequentially not taking into account time span between actual finds. I should probably also add some timestamp on the picture. There is also no way to control the playback of GIF at the moment, but I'm looking into shiny JS code that could make it more flexible.

Ah, it is also rather slow, even for ~500 caches. Be patient with the server ;)
Bild Bild
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

I tried it, but no answer came (maybe I have too many caches found):

One important thing I forgot to mention (sorry):
This video should be for all caches on the platform (e.g. whole oc.de) and not for a specific user.
So this means that for our platform (oc.de) there are 25.313 caches to pop up in this video.
I presume that this is too much data for Your server...
Benutzeravatar
tomaszg
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 22
Registriert: 28.01.2020, 03:18

You have about the same amount of caches as I do, so it should work. Maybe it was caused by Germany map being a bit bigger than Poland. However my app did produce the map, it took it only longer than HTTP server wanted to wait. It can be seen by a direct link: https://tomaszg.pl/geo/map_mic@.gif

As for the whole OCde - it can be done, but I would need to change the approach. Plotting a frame per cache would make the animation too long :D It should be day-based, I think. It would still take more time, but I could render it and put it on Youtube for example.
Bild Bild
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

[quote="tomaszg"]Plotting a frame per cache would make the animation too long[/quote]

Please keep in mind that caches come (publish) and go (archive).
Right now we have 25000 active caches but this number must be multiplied.
I don´t know the exact factor, so just assume there have been 50000 caches in total.
When You plot 1000 caches per second from the beginning (13. August 2005) until today,
the video would last about 1-2 min, which is a good duration...

...and not too long like this one here :-)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2ZLxtqJuKE
Zuletzt geändert von mic@ am 04.11.2020, 15:59, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.
Benutzeravatar
tomaszg
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 22
Registriert: 28.01.2020, 03:18

I was thinking about plotting each day separately as a new frame. I didn't think about archived caches, my simple approach doesn't work well with erasing anything...
Bild Bild
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

Is Your site down?
The first link https://tomaszg.pl/geo works fine, but when I enter my nickname nothing happens...
Benutzeravatar
tomaszg
Nano
Nano
Beiträge: 22
Registriert: 28.01.2020, 03:18

Thanks for letting me know. It should work now.

BTW. The server is now much faster and I hope this will solve some of the performance problems. Also, showing "owned" and "not found" caches should work now also on OCDE.
Bild Bild
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

[quote="tomaszg"]Thanks for letting me know. It should work now.[/quote]

Cool, thx for the fast repair!
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

Ups, I was too early... it´s hanging again ?!
Benutzeravatar
mic@
Vereinsmitglied
Vereinsmitglied
Beiträge: 6513
Registriert: 04.12.2009, 00:31

[quote="mic@"]Ups, I was too early... it´s hanging again ?![/quote]

Have You found a solution for this pingpong-error?

First time it works: https://tomaszg.pl/cgi-bin/geo-form.pl? ... ap=Germany
Second time it fails: https://tomaszg.pl/cgi-bin/geo-form.pl? ... ap=Germany
Antworten